License Requirements for Optometrists

Before submitting your online application, please read the following information.

  1. Licensure fee is $175.00 plus a transaction fee of $3.50.  We only accept Visa and MasterCard. Fees are non-refundable.
  2. Must have passed the National Board of Examiners in Optometry Parts I, II, III and the TMOD.  Please contact NBEO at https://www.optometry.org/ and have your score report released to the Ohio Vision Professionals Board.  (Failure of any section of the NBEO examination on the fourth attempt will require additional remedial training prior to being eligible for licensure.  Please contact the board).
  3. Must be a graduate of an accredited college of optometry in either the United States of America, Puerto Rico or Canada. Candidates who are seniors can apply for licensure prior to graduation.  An official transcript must be mailed to the board from the university
  4. Must complete both BCI and FBI records check for licensure.  By law, the board cannot complete the processing of your application until it receives the background check reports. See Criminal Background Check Fact Letter at http://vision.ohio.gov/Forms.
  5. Must submit a copy of your CPR card. (Save on your desktop because you will have to upload to the online application).
  6. Must submit a professional photo.  (Save on your desktop because you will have to upload to online application).
  7. Complete the law seminar.  Please email David Bailey at david.w.bailey@vision.ohio.gov  to schedule.
  8. If you currently hold licensure or have ever held licensure in any other state, expired or active, please have that state mail your official license verification to the board.
  9. If you have been licensed in another state, you must submit a self-query from the National Practitioners Data Bank.  Mail the letter unopened to the board.  www.npdb.hrsa.gov
  10. If you were born outside the United States, you will have to provide documentation of your legal residency (i.e. green card, passport).  (Save on your desktop because you will have to upload to the online application).
  11. Make certain that you provide us with a valid email address. The board utilizes email to expedite the processing of your application. Check your email inbox and spam folder carefully to ensure that you do not miss important messages from the board.
  12. Follow this link to apply online:  www.elicense.ohio.gov

ENDORSEMENT REQUIREMENTS SECTION 4725.18

- Must be licensed to practice optometry by a state or province that requires passage of a written, entry-level examination at the time of initial licensure. Must be active and in good standing. Applicant must have been actively engaged in the practice of optometry, including the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, for at least three years immediately preceding making application to the Board.

- You must complete a two hour instruction session on the Ohio laws and rules prior to beginning the practice of optometry in Ohio. Call the Board office at (614) 466-5115 to schedule that session.